It’s Animal Week on NPR’s ‘Fresh Air’

September 1, 2009 at 6:41 pm Leave a comment

bigstockphoto_Dogs_Playing_1303968One of my favorite radio programs, NPR’s “Fresh Air,” is running Animal Week this week. While not quite as gripping as Shark Week on the Discovery Channel, this comes in a close second by a whisker.

They are spotlighting animal related articles and stories, and it’s well worth tuning in.You can find showtimes on www.NPR.org.

I have already heard Temple Grandin (autistic animal advocate and consultant on the construction of animal-oriented slaughterhouses) and journalist Michael Shaffer (author of “One Nation under Dog”). I was late taking my son, Connor, to pre-school because I was having one of those “driveway moments” where I just couldn’t turn off the radio. I have my priorities, and the provision of excellent education to my son is high on the list, but some things just top it all at times. I mean, if the car was on fire, I probably would have just listened to the segment and not the whole show, but hearing how you would actually design a humane slaughterhouse had me riveted.

Michael Shaffer discussed a lot of the pros and cons of dog parks, a subject I am still grappling with. He mentioned that the social interactions between people are an important and beneficial by-product of the dog park phenom.

But, I have a hard time aligning this with the terrible carnage I see come into the ER as a result of dog on dog aggression from dog parks. I know that my perspective is skewed by what I do, and I acknowledge that there are many, many good things that can come of a well-run and cooperative dog park, but I still see so much tragedy come from these places that it is hard for me see the positive side sometimes.

I would encourage anyone with an interest in pets and animal-related issues to give it a listen.

http://www.petconnection.com/blog/2009/09/…

Technorati Tags: ,

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The greatest dog breeds you only thought you knew Bo Obama Needs to Change His Name

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

