Sound the alarm: Pets count, and companies are counting on it

September 27, 2009 at 1:35 am Leave a comment

When I bought my first home in 1989, I had a security system put in. The technician who did the work took a look at my big dogs and said, “Lady, not my business to tell you, but I’m not sure you don’t have a great security system already.”

I told him I was putting the system in to protect the pets, because honestly, the stuff in the house just doesn’t mean that much to me.

He looked at me as if I were crazy.

It’s 20 years later, and I just saw this ad from ADT while watching a college football game. Watch it, and tell me that how we view our pets hasn’t changed:

.
Wow. I mean, really …. wow. I can’t imagine seeing an ad like this even 10 years ago. Homeowner, woman, apparently single, who wants a security system to protect … her pet.

Turns out I was just 20 years ahead of the times … or maybe it’s just that companies are just now catching up to the idea that “family” isn’t just one man, one woman and a couple of cute kids. And that we care about everyone in our families.

Kudos, ADT, for “getting it.”

http://www.petconnection.com/blog/2009/09/…

Technorati Tags: ,

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

From Today’s New York Times ‘Scent lineups’ may be failing smell test – Houston Chronicle

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

