Social media gain another convert

December 8, 2009 at 6:51 am Leave a comment

It would be fair to call me the Greta Garbo of pet writers. I’m already in touch with the people I want to be in touch with, regrettable exceptions being Ralph Fiennes and Jeremy Irons. If I wanted to hear from people I went to high school or college with, I would sign up for Classmates.com or go to the reunions. And it’s my goal to be the last person on earth who’s not on Facebook. But apparently I’m missing out on things. When I suggested to Jerry that he call our friends Dwight and Aries to find out if their baby had been born yet, Dwight was surprised. “I put that up on Facebook a month ago.”

Sigh.

How to avoid another timesuck? I’m already on Twitter, which has become a fabulous procrastination tool. I really don’t need another one–I am an expert in that field already–but it would be nice to keep up with new babies and whatever else is going on in my far-flung friends’ lives. But I really don’t want to be on Facebook. Jerry wouldn’t make the sacrifice either.

Harper2120109So Harper did. Yes, my dog has her very own Facebook page, cute Christmas picture and all. She’s picked up more than a dozen friends since I signed her up yesterday–coincidentally, I’m friends with most of them, too. She’s happy to meet more, and I can remain somewhat behind the scenes. There’s just one thing…

Dwight, why haven’t you friended Harper yet?

http://www.petconnection.com/blog/2009/12/…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

From Yellow to Zippy to Jack: A puppy grows up Keeping old cats young

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

